Suspicious Moon

0:00 / 0:00
Bridge Over Troubled Water

Limited Edition White LP (100 copies only)
Standard Edition Black LP

“Suspicious Moon
A collection of Elvis Presley covers recorded by the duet David Fenech & Pierre Bastien

The idea of “Suspicious Moon” started at a party around the topic of blue color. David Fenech had chosen to play “Blue Moon” and Pierre Bastien asked to join in. It was a very enjoyable party and then they recorded the song and decided to plan an album exclusively based on covers of the King. Not that we were absolute fans of Elvis… but as a starting point to go somewhere else. And this is what we reached: in many aspects a premiere for the two musicians. Pierre focuses on (prepared) trumpet for the very first time, while David is heard extensively as a vocalist and is more than ever responsible for all arrangements and textures.

Playing other people’s material is also a premiere for both of them. 11 tracks around very well known standards. Like familiar places that are changed when seen in a different light. Please enjoy.

“Our choice of the Elvis Presley song book for this record may seem strange to many. It seems strange to me as well. Not that I dislike the original music, but before our sessions it had never been a direct source of inspiration. Paradoxically, this distance gave me freedom and flowing ideas. I hear similar qualities in David’s parts too. We hope that our relaxed attitude and its positive outcome will be reflected in this album” – Pierre Bastien

“The strange thing about these recordings is that the creative process was so fluid and natural… that it seems that through playing other people’s music, we almost reveal something of ourselves. As if these tracks were our creation, as if they were our own children!” – David Fenech

Pierre Bastien (born in 1953) is a French musician who builds his own machineries, at the cross between music and visual art, that blends live trumpet sounds with screen projections of on-site, mechanical sound sculptures in a very poetic way. His work is described as “a timeless sounding orchestra, both futuristic and slightly dada, conjuring ancient traditions in its surprisingly sensuous music.”. Around 1986 he started participating in Pascal Comelade’s Bel Canto Orquesta. At the same time he created – and literally built – his own orchestra called Mecanium : an ensemble of musical automatons constructed from meccano parts and activated by electro-motors, that are playing on acoustic instruments from all over the world. Collaborating in the past with video artist Pierrick Sorin, fashion designer Issey Miyake, singer and composer Robert Wyatt and Aphex Twin (who released three of his albums on his label Rephlex) to name a few, he is one of the most influential experimental musicians working in the field. In 1986 he formed his own self made one man orchestra, Mecanium and made over 20 records over the years. “A mad musical scientist with a celebrity following” (The Guardian ).” –

Track list:

01. Jailhouse Rock
02. Heartbreak Hotel
03. Are You Lonesome Tonight
04. Hound Dog
05. Love Me Tender
06. Suspiscious Minds
07. Don’t Be Cruel
08. Blue Moon
09. Bridge Over Troubled Water
10. Fever
11. In The Ghetto

Copyright © Pierre Bastien 2024